• 8 Dec

    Drinks Trade Online December 2010

    Second time nominee Anna Pooley has been named The Wine Society’s 10th Annual Young Winemaker of the Year 2010. Anna, from Heemskerk Wines in Tasmania has won the award for her three wines Abel’s Tempest Pinot Noir 2009, Abel’s Tempest Traminer 2009 and Heemskerk Chardonnay 2008. “This is our tenth year of the awards and the talent that we have seen has again overwhelmed us all, ”said Daryl MacGraw, CEO of The Wine Society. “It’s great to see such high quality wines being crafted by these young winemakers and shows us that the winemaking community in Australia and New Zealand are eager to support the future of the industry.” Steve Baraglia from Naked Run Wines and Donna Hartwig from Kingston Estate Wines picked up won the awards for Sommeliers’ Choice and Members’ Choice respectively.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *